OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners

DVM Information


 



PDF Print E-mail

Getting approval for Continuing Education

Fill out the Continuing Education Approval form and submit it along with supporting documents to Cathy Kirkpatrick at the Board office.

Annual Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

Each renewal period, which is between July 1 and June 30 annually, a mandatory of 2 hours shall encompass state or federal controlled dangerous substance (CDS) laws, or review of the Oklahoma Veterinary Practice Act and applicable rules.

All continuing education that is Registry of Approved Continuing Education (RACE) approved by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards, will be acceptable.

There is no maximum for RACE approved online CE for DVMs and RVTs.

 

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - 20 hours

Provisional DVM - 20 hours

Faculty DVM - 20 hours

Registered Veterinary Technicians (RVT) - 10 hours

Certified Animal Euthanasia Technicians (CAET) - 6 hours

Non Veterinary Equine Dental Care Providers - 4 hours

Non Veterinary Reproductive Services Technician - 8 hours

 

DVM, Provisional, and Faculty

20 hours from July 1st through June 30th

It is not necessary to enclose certificates, except for online CE. Maintain all your CE certificates in a readily retrievable file for 5 years

MANDATORY REVIEW OF CDS LAWS: Two of the twenty hours shall encompass state or federal controlled dangerous substance (CDS) laws, or review of the Oklahoma Veterinary Practice Act and applicable rules (www.okvetboard.com). (Max 2 hours)

COLLEGE AND EXTENSION SEMINARS: One hour credit for each hour of attendance.

NATIONAL, REGIONAL, STATE, OR LOCAL SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS: One hour credit for each hour of attendance.

INTERACTIVE ONLINE COURSES: One hour credit for each Board approved hour of completed interactive online course. This CE must be R.A.C.E. approved. A copy of the certificate must be submitted to qualify.

PRESENTATIONS AND PUBLICATIONS: One hour credit for each hour spent developing or presenting original, peer-reviewed presentations or publications. (Max 4 hours)

AUTO-TUTORIAL TAPES: One hour credit for each hour of study with auto-tutorial tapes of scientific material related to veterinary practice. (Max 4 hours)

JOURNALS AND PERIODICALS: One hour credit for each hour of study of scientific or non-scientific articles in veterinary journals or periodicals pertaining to veterinary medicine. (Max 4 hours)

RVT

10 hours from July 1st through June 30th

It is not necessary to enclose certificates, except for online CE. Maintain all your CE certificates in a readily retrievable file for 5 years

MANDATORY REVIEW OF CDS LAWS: Two of the ten hours shall encompass state or federal controlled dangerous substance (CDS) laws, or review of the Oklahoma Veterinary Practice Act and applicable rules. (Max 2 hours)

COLLEGE AND EXTENSION SEMINARS: One hour credit for each hour of attendance.

NATIONAL, REGIONAL, STATE, OR LOCAL SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS: One hour credit for each hour of attendance.

INTERACTIVE ONLINE COURSES: One hour credit for each Board approved hour of completed interactive online course. This CE must be R.A.C.E. approved. A copy of the certificate must be submitted to qualify.

PRESENTATIONS AND PUBLICATIONS: One hour credit for each hour spent developing or presenting original, peer-reviewed presentations or publications. (Max 2 hours)

AUTO-TUTORIAL TAPES: One hour credit for each hour of study with auto-tutorial tapes of scientific material related to veterinary practice. (Max 2 hours)

JOURNALS AND PERIODICALS: One hour credit for each hour of study of scientific or non-scientific articles in veterinary journals or periodicals pertaining to veterinary medicine. (Max 2 hours)

CAET

6 hours from July 1st through June 30th

It is not necessary to enclose certificates, except for online CE. Maintain all your CE certificates in a readily retrievable file for 5 years

MANDATORY REVIEW OF CDS LAWS: Two of the ten hours shall encompass state or federal controlled dangerous substance (CDS) laws, or review of the Oklahoma Veterinary Practice Act and applicable rules. (Max 2 hours)

COLLEGE AND EXTENSION SEMINARS, AND VETERINARY TECHNOLOGY SCHOOLS: One hour credit for each hour of attendance.

NATIONAL, REGIONAL, STATE, OR LOCAL SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS: One hour credit for each hour of attendance.

INTERACTIVE ONLINE COURSES: One hour credit for each Board approved hour of completed interactive online course. This CE must be R.A.C.E. approved. A copy of the certificate must be submitted to qualify.

PRESENTATIONS AND PUBLICATIONS: One hour credit for each hour spent developing or presenting original, peer-reviewed presentations or publications. (Max 2 hours)

AUTO-TUTORIAL TAPES AND JOURNALS: One hour credit for each hour of study with auto-tutorial tapes of scientific material related to veterinary practice. (Max 2 hours)

Non Veterinary Equine Dental Care Provider

4 hours from July 1st through June 30th in a course approved by the Texas Institute of Equine Dentistry, the Acacemy of Equine Dentistry, or the International Association of Equine Dentistry. All certificates must be submitted with the renewal to verify hours received.

Non Veterinary Reproductive Services Technician

8 hours from July 1st through June 30th from courses and study approved by the Board

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last Updated ( Monday, 16 September 2013 10:18 )
 


Calendar

Last month July 2014 Next month
S M T W T F S
week 27 1 2 3 4 5
week 28 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
week 29 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
week 30 20 21 22 23 24 25 26
week 31 27 28 29 30 31
Last month August 2014 Next month
S M T W T F S
week 31 1 2
week 32 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
week 33 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
week 34 17 18 19 20 21 22 23
week 35 24 25 26 27 28 29 30
week 36 31

Upcoming Events

No events
شات صوتي
منتديات
شات العين
دردشة صوتية
تحميل ملفات
تحميل صور